Seminars 2015

Thursday, September 10, 4:00-5:30pm
Derek Baker, Lingnan University
The Humean Normative Projective

Thursday, September 17, 4:00-5:30pm
Andrew Loke, University of Hong Kong
Did Time Have a Beginning?

Thursday, September 24, 4:00-5:30pm
Nikolaj Pedersen, Yonsei University
Manifestation Means Messy Metaphysics

Thursday, October 22, 4:00-5:30pm
Cansu Canca, University of Hong Kong
What Should Kant Have Said? A Kantian Analysis against the Prohibition of a Kidney Market

Thursday, October 29, 4:00-5:30pm
Uwe Steinhoff, University of Hong Kong
In Defense of Moral Relativism

Thursday, November 5, 4:00-5:30pm
Andrew Bailey, Yale-NUS College
You Are An Animal: Three New Arguments for Animalism

Thursday, November 12, 4:00-5:30pm
Michael Johnson, University of Hong Kong
Dispositional Metasemantics

Thursday, November 19, 4:00-5:30pm
Christina Van Dkye, Calvin College
Adding Fuel to the Fire? Orthorexia and Gendered Eating

Thursday, November 26, 4:00-5:30pm
Graham Peebles, Huaqiao University
Acquaintance

Thursday, December 3, 4:00-5:30pm
Johannes Hoerning, University of Hong Kong
The Ethics of Freedom and Its Reification

Thursday, January 22, 4:00-5:30pm
Richard Dietz, Tokyo University
Menu-Dependent Distinctions, Vagueness, and Tolerance

Thursday, January 29, 4:00-5:30pm
Frank Saunders, HKU
Xunxi vs. the Primitivists on the Relationship between Nature and Culture

Thursday, February 05, 4:00-5:30pm
Law Chun Yin, HKU
Happiness, Ethics, and Culture

Thursday, February 12, 4:00-5:30pm
Meghan Sullivan, Notre Dame
Yet Another Epicurean Argument

Thursday, February 26, 4:00-5:30pm
Andrew Loke, HKU
Is an uncaused beginning of the universe possible?

Thursday, March 05, 4:00-5:30pm
Liz Jackson, HKU
Why should I be grateful? A challenge to gratitude as part of moral education

Thursday, March 19, 4:00-5:30pm
Mikael Petterson , Lingnan
Pictures of Space

Thursday, March 26, 4:00-5:30pm
Eirik Harris, City U
The Law and the Way in the Shenzi Fragments

Thursday, April 09, 4:00-5:30pm
Malcolm Forster, University of Wisconsin
How Predictive Brains Might Distinguish Appearance and Reality

Thursday, April 16, 4:00-5:30pm
Song Fei, HKU
Right against high risk imposition

Thursday, April 23, 4:00-5:30pm
Teru Miyake, NTU Singapore
Understanding Scientific Change: Theory as Tool

Thursday, April 30, 4:00-5:30pm
Mark Wildish, HKU
What is Platonic about Neoplatonic Semantics?

Tuesday May 12, 4:00pm-5:30pm
Masashi Kasaki, Kyoto University
How far does the Problem of Local Skepticism Go?

Friday and Saturday May 15-16, 9:30-18:00
Workshop: Kinds and Quantities
http://jwolffphilosophy.net/research/workshop-kinds-and-quantities-classifying-and-measuring-in-science-may-15-16-2015/

Thursday May 21, 4:00pm-5:30pm
Anna Bergqvist, Manchester Metropolitan University
TBA